top of page
  • Writer's pictureKadeen Dobbs

WHY, as a Parent, IT IS IMPERATIVE NOT to IGNORE your child's NIGHTMARES       

As we sleep, God may give us dreams, but guess what? So too can that Serpent, The Devil.

There is an attack on children's minds, their identities, their purpose, their destiny. Lucifer cannot create, and so since he desires to be GOD, but cannot achieve such a status, he constantly seeks to meddle with The Creator's Creation. We are in the last days and Acts 2:17 is manifesting: " In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams."

Parents, I therefore encourage you, (if you have not already done so) to begin developing or formulating a " Jesus centered spiritual bond" with your child or children. There are so many ways to do this, but I will share two crucial ways in this article. This is necessary because The Evil One often attacks your child during his/her most vulnerable state, "sleep". As a result before your child/children rest, prayer and scripture reading are significant.

It also fosters the birthing, continuation or solidification of a strong spiritual bond and connection that blossoms into a beautiful time spent

with not only your child but with The Father, The Son and The Holy Spirit.

When your child tells you that he/ she had a bad dream or nightmare, do not be too quick to be dismissive. Listen. God communicated with people through dreams. He did so with Joseph

(Genesis 37:9). Jacob (Genesis 32: 22-32) .

Daniel ( Daniel 7) and Pharaoh ( Genesis 41:1-5). These are just a few examples. God still does communicate with people this way, but society scoffs at and underestimates the power of what you see in the realm of sleep. However, dreams/nightmares hold powerful meanings for good and evil.

Likewise, the impersonator, The Devil, attempts to communicate to people via dreams but his motives are sinister. He does this to try to bring about a spirit of fear, when we know "God hath not given us a spirit of fear, but of love, power and a sound mind."

( 2 Timothy 1:7). Fear cripples. Fear limits. Fear makes one settle for mediocrity. Fear makes simple tasks appear complex. Fear makes one settle. No parent wants this for his/her child.

How often has your child said the following?

  1. "I had a bad dream"

  2. " I had a nightmare"

  3. "I saw the most ugly things while I was sleeping"

  4. "I saw a monster"

  5. "A snake bit me"

  6. "I saw a vampire"

  7. "I saw a monster, and it was chasing me"

  8. "I saw a monster and it tried to eat me"

As a result, here are a few Bible verses that you can read with or over your child before or while he or she rests and thus set the tone and the atmosphere for the moving of The Holy Spirit.

  • Psalm 3:5 " I laid me down and slept; I awake for the Lord sustained me."

For your child personalize it by saying:

You_______ (say child's name) lay down and sleep. You _______( say child's name) will awake for The Lord will sustain you.

  • Psalm 4:8 " I will both lay me down in peace and sleep. For thou Lord only makest me dwell in safety."

For your child, personalize it by saying:

You will both lay______( say child's name ) down in peace and sleep. For thou, Lord, only makest ______(say child's name) dwell in safety.

  • Proverbs 19:23 "The fear of The Lord tendeth to life: And he that hath it shall abide satisfied. He shall not be visited by evil."( Where you see "he", say your child's name instead).

  • Psalm 91 is another powerful read. All its verses can be read and ensures that under God's protective wings your child shall abide as he/she rests.

If, as a Parent, you desire to just simply teach your child how to pray or to get them in the habit of praying, lead them to pray with the following five (5) steps until they build their prayer power and independence.

  • Start by giving thanks.

  • Bless Mom, Dad, my Church, School, Friends.....

  • Protect my Family, Sisters, (name each), Brothers (name each), Grandma, Grandpa, Auntie, Uncle....

  • Ask for help in any area.

  • Close by thanking The Lord for answering your prayer.

Parents, please note that these scriptures are applicable to you as well, if you have difficulty sleeping peacefully. Before you rest, invite the presence of The Holy Spirit in your midst and find sweet rest in your Saviour's strong and protective arms.

Hope this blesses you and share with anyone The Holy Spirit prompts you to.

Have a blessed life!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page