top of page
  • Writer's pictureKadeen Dobbs

When despised...  

He came unto his own and they accepted him not.

In this sentence the pronoun "he" refers to Jesus.

Jesus is the epitome of an individual who came to help, assist, teach, inspire and save mankind yet he was rejected, by The Jews, nonetheless, the chosen ones, his bloodline. He healed the sick. He opened the eyes of the blind. He walked on water. He cast out demons and turned water into wine. Yet, he was despised.


The question then that has an obvious answer is,if they hated Christ then who are you and I to be not treated with contempt and disdain ?

John 15:18 states:

"If the world hates you, remember it hated me first"



These were Jesus' words to his disciples. When you carry the light of Christ, you shine! You exude an aura, that tells everyone, I am in this world, but not of this world. You walk differently. You talk differently. You speak differently. You perceive everything differently and hence you are treated like an outcast.


God's children are just not like everyone else and we shouldn't strive to be.


What do you do when your efforts of kindness are returned with spite and malicious and spiteful intent?


  1. Remember, heaven is not for the vindictive and revengeful. "Vengeance is mine,"says The Lord. "Their foot shall slip in due time". Deuteronomy 32:35

  2. "A soft answer turneth away wrath but grievous words stir up anger. " Proverbs 15:1. When they lash out in anger, you retaliate with LOVE.


3.Walk away from a bitter person. It takes more willpower and strength to walk away, than stand and argue back.


4. The word of God instructs us to bless and pray for our enemies and those who spitefully mistreat us.

Luke 6:28. Prayer rids you of their poison. Anger is venomous. It is like cigarette smoking. You don't die immediately, after the first inhalation of nicotine, but overtime the internal organs begin to die. Anger is the same. On the outside the body appears to be suffering no ill effects, but on the inside stress hormones increase, the blood begins to pump faster and the brain can actually experience an aneurysm.



Time spent in God's presence fosters, maturity and wisdom. I am learning so much about myself as I have begun to lean completely on God and not my own understanding.

I have learnt that I am quite unequipped to handle this world without my Heavenly Father. It is just simply impossible.


Today, I implore you let Christ lead, and be at peace knowing the battles we face in this world are not ours but The Lord's.







23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's TIME to MOVE!

Familiarity is said to breed contempt, but I put forth the argument for deep self introspection and deliberation that familiarity breeds settling, mediocrity, less than God's best, fear, stagnancy an

Cornered? FIGHT BACK❗

Last year was one of the most difficult periods of my life. There were some days, I literally felt like I was going to die and actually wanted to. I felt trapped, despondent... cornered. Have you ever

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page